Testimonials & Reviews

4.99/5

Powell Orthopedics

Orthopedic Surgeon located in Fayetteville, AR & Bentonville, AR

4.99/5 Star Rating
72 total reviews

Powell Orthopedics always appreciates feedback from our valued patients. To date, we’re thrilled to have collected 72 reviews with an average rating of 4.99 out of 5 stars. Please read what others are saying about Powell Orthopedics below, and as always, we would love to collect your feedback.

Debra S.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 02/20/24
Dr. Powell has taken care of my sons, my husband, and most recently, me! Excellent care by him and his staff. Physical Therapy was an essential part of improving and Shawn was awesome. Would highly recommend!!
Michael F.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 02/11/24
If you have plantar fascia pain, call Dr. Powell! The TENEX procedure is different from traditional plantar fascia surgery. Recovery time was minimal and 8 weeks after surgery I walked 15 miles in one day with no pain. Dr. Powell and his staff are amazing and truly care, can’t thank them enough!
Melony N.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 11/28/23
Very good experience! I am so grateful for Dr. Powell & his caring staff. The PRP procedure was the best answer for my angry knee. I am so thankful that I can keep being active without a surgery.
Carolyn L.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 09/18/23
Dr. Powell is a wonderful orthopedic MD. While my first name is not Calamity, Dr Powell has seen me thru these: broken fibula, knee surgery, fractured tibia, broken wrist and other embarrassing slips and falls best not listed to save space. Each time I’ve needed Dr. Powell I have been able to see him quickly and get treatment to begin healing as soon as humanly possible. Dr Powell has become reliable friend of my overall health by treating me and thru referrals for skeletal issues I didn’t know how to address. Overall, given the above list my results are: my bones work without a limp and without pain, pain relievers, cane, crutch or swelling. While I have a long list of repairs, nobody watching me walk or do yoga would guess it!! Thanks to Dr. Powell!!
Teresa K.
4/5 Star Rating
Submitted 09/17/23
Highly recommend Dr. Powell! I had a torn ACL and meniscus. Dr. Powell explained my options and was very upfront about risks and realistic expectations. I chose to have surgery as I wanted to remain active by playing tennis and going hiking. It’s been 1.5 yrs since my surgery and my knee is feeling good and the scars are barely noticeable. My only complaint is with the office itself. Everyone is super nice - that’s not an issue, but twice they did not have a record of my scheduled appointment. I live nearly an hour away and had to make special arrangements at work to adjust for my appointments and realizing they didn’t have it on file was an added stress. Fortunately, I was able to still get in the same day both times.
Kevin S.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 09/15/23
Dr. Powell was recommended to me by a friend. I was taken care of from diagnosis to surgery. I had a great recovery without any pain. I would recommend him to anyone with an orthopedic issue.
Stephanie F.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 07/21/23
2 years ago I was referred to Dr. Powell for acute knee pain. Having been overweight my entire life it never registered to me this could be the reason for my pain. Dr. Powell was very caring and gave me exactly what I needed to hear to help my pain. "Stephanie, if you don't loose weight you will be in a wheelchair within 5 years"! I am so grateful he said those strong words to me. Today I am 140 pounds lighter and I owe the initiative to Dr. Powell! I do still have knee pain and Dr. Powell has a plan in place in a few weeks with a procedure to alleviate my pain. I am absolutely grateful to have Dr. Powell as my surgeon!
Richard M.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 05/03/23
I recently had my second shoulder repaired by Dr. Powell. Both surgeries went well and I had no problems with recovery (except for the normal post op pain, etc.) The office staff is amazing too. They are all very friendly and helpful, and will take care of you. I must say that I think Dr. Powell and his staff are the very best of the best ! I told him at my last appointment that I will be coming back once I am ready for my 'bad' knee needs replacement. I wouldn't go anywhere else.
Mike S.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 04/18/23
Just recently moved to Fayetteville from Dallas, TX. On March 28th I Was involved in an accident that caused tremendous injury to my left leg. Not knowing anyone in the new city to seek proper medical treatment was just as painful as my torn quadriceps tendons. Thank God to my colleagues at work I connected with Dr. Powell and his wonderful, kind and caring staff. Two and half weeks following the surgery, I am recovering beautifully. Dr. Powell's PT director, Shawn is highly knowledgeable and caring. I could not have had a better team to see me through this injury. Thank you from the bottom of my heart.
Stacey F.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 03/24/23
Dr. Powell and his staff are extremely knowledgeable and friendly. I managed to do a great deal of damage to my knee. Prior to my surgery, Dr. Powell thoroughly explained the procedure and what to expect with my recovery. The surgery went very well and the physical therapy I received with Miranda at Powell Physical Therapy was also tremendous. I highly recommend Dr. Powell and his team for knee surgery.
Rebecca S.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 03/01/23
Great experience from the front desk lady greeting us with a smile and friendly conversation, to the friendly and helpful medical assistant, to the X-ray technician who made it fun with smiles and friendly conversation, to Dr. Powell who spent a lot of time getting to know us, educating us about my issue and offering his advice and help. He stayed with us until all our questions were answered. He even visited with us on the way out. Last but not least, the check out lady who was beyond friendly and welcoming. Thank you Dr. Powell for all your time and choosing an amazing staff. Our experience was beyond amazing.
Darlene H.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 12/29/22
Dr. Powell and his staff have been amazing during the process of my journey through my knee surgery. They are very professional, personable, and respectful to the patient. I was amazed at how much better I felt after the surgery. Thank you so much.
Ken H.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 12/08/22
Had knee surgery, Powell done an excellent job. His staff was very caring and made sure I was doing great afterwards. After a couple of months I was back to normal. He explained everything perfectly. Highly recommend.
Dena S.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 09/29/22
I would highly recommend Dr Powell to anyone who has knee problems. He and his staff are very friendly. Dr Powell performed arthroscopic knee surgery to remove the torn meniscus and cleaned up the arthritis in my knee. I now can walk comfortably and without constantly being in pain.
Joe W.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 09/15/22
I have had tow surgeries in the past year, both by Dr Powell. A knee that had a torn meniscus and had to have cartilage removed. My knee is doing very well. My shoulder had to have rotator cuff repaired, had biceps fraying form shoulder repaired and calcium deposits removed. Followed his suggested PT and very happy with how my shoulder has responded. I highly recommend Dr Mark Powell for shoulder and knee surgery.
Beth E.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 08/18/22
Dr. Powell is an attentive listener. He is patient and thorough. Over the years I have gone to him for shoulder and knee problems and he has helped me alleviate pain and heal properly I particularly appreciate his office staff. They are friendly and helpful and the atmosphere within the office is congenial. Dr. Powell has a number of people on his staff who have worked for him for more than 20 years. Dr. Powell would always be my first choice in a doctor when I have knee and shoulder problems.
Krista K.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 08/13/22
After "working through" shoulder pain I realized it wasn't going to fix itself. Scheduled with Dr.Powell and quickly got in to see him. He, and his team, worked magic to help me get back to living my life without pain.
Allison B.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 07/11/22
Always get a second opinion… that’s how I found Dr. Powell. I had my ACL reconstructed the old school archaic way in the 90’s… then fast forward to 2022 I thought I could jump the creek. I jumped it lol- I didn’t fall or twist or anything but the hard landing caused swelling and pain and my knee was loose and unstable. I got an mri and the first surgeon wanted to do immediate surgery- even though my acl is fine- I have a torn meniscus but besides acute instability and acute pain I didn’t need surgery. I read the first surgeons reviews on Google and was terrified- then I found Dr. Powell- he has great reviews for a reason. He told me he absolutely would not do surgery on me; he explained he would never do surgery on me and if I needed one cause of chronic pain he’d send me to the specialist in St. Louis. I was not in chronic pain- I just had an acute injury- He sent me to PT and I ordered a sexy robo knee brace and seven weeks later my knee is fine it is 100%. I am so grateful! For a surgeon who makes his money doing surgery telling me heck no… he won’t do surgery on me- and the other dude wanting to do a crazy surgery right away I was in shock at the differing opinions but blessed to get that second opinion. Dr. Powell is moral, honest, trustworthy and that’s pretty amazing for a surgeon who makes his money from surgery telling me the opposite of the other surgeon dude- I hope I never have to see Dr. Powell again lol and I mean that with love, he’s clearly awesome and kind and honest, but I don’t plan to jump creeks anymore or play basketball or tennis. But if my family ever needs an orthopedic surgeon he is the first person I will call. Anyways I’m rambling, but I believe Dr. Powell is the most ethical surgeon in NWA- his reviews speak for themselves and he looks out for patients more than his pocketbook. Last thing- his whole staff is salt of the earth amazing! Thank you guys!
Kimm L.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 06/29/22
I had rotator cuff surgery in February 7th, 2022. All of the staff were extremely polite, compassionate and knowledgeable. Always on time for my appointment. Doctor Powell is friendly, kind and direct. I was back to work in 2 weeks, still in a sling and restricted on my duties. (manager and a lot of computer work) I followed all the guidelines given to me so my recovery would be smooth. I went to PT every week, did my exercises and was smart with my activities. I can't say enough good things about my experience. I am extremely grateful I went for a 2nd opinion and it was Dr. Powell and his team!
Brooke G.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 06/20/22
Caring and highly capable physician and staff. Dr. Powell and his team have helped me with knee, wrist and hip problems over the past few years. I wouldn't think of going anyplace else.